Atmospheric Spaces is a project that does not deal with the word «atmosphere» from a meteorological or an earth-scientific point of view. It rather arises in order to provide a point of reference for everyone who is dealing with this subject matter from a phenomenological and aesthetical point of view, because, nowadays, there is no platform that attempts to collect and gather all news, events and publications on this topic. This blog is created with the aim of constructing a network and gathering a community that works together on this philosophical and transdisciplinary subject.

Atmosphere means, in this context, a sensorial and affective quality widespread in space. It is the particular shade or tone that determines the way one feels his/her surroundings. Air, ambiance, aura, climate, environment, genius loci, milieu, mood, numinous, Stimmung, Umwelt – all these words are names hiding, in fact, the founding idea of atmospheres: a vague ens or power, without perceivable and discrete boundaries, which we meet around us and which affects our lived body and even involves us. Studying atmospheres means, thus, a parte subjecti, to analyze the range of unintentional or involuntary experiences and, in particular, those experiences which emotionally “tonalize” our everyday life. A parte objecti, it means however to learn to critically evaluate intentionally (e.g. artistically) produced feelings and to avoid being manipulated by such feelings.


Director: Tonino Griffero (Tor Vergata University – Rome)
Coordinator: Marco Tedeschini (Tor Vergata University – Rome)
Executive Secretary: Sara Borriello, Serena Massimo (Tor Vergata University – Rome)

Committee Members

Niels Albertsen (Aarhus School of Architecture), Jean-François Augoyard (CNRS – Grenoble), Bruce Bégout (Bordeaux Montaigne University), Arnold Berleant (Emeritus – Long Island University), Mikkel Bille (University of Copenhagen), Gernot Böhme (IPPh – Darmstadt), Christian Borch (University of Copenhagen), Gabor Csepregi (St. Paul’s College – University of Manitoba), Federico De Matteis (University of L’Aquila), Christoph Demmerling (Friedrich Schiller University – Jena),  Gianni Francesetti (IPsiG – Turin), Thomas Fuchs (Heidelberg University Hospital), Michael Großheim (Rostock University), Robert Gugutzer (Goethe University – Frankfurt), Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht (Stanford University), Jürgen Hasse (Goethe University – Frankfurt), Michael Hauskeller (University of Liverpool), Timothy Ingold (University of Aberdeen), Christian Julmi (University of Hagen), Rainer Kazig (CNRS – Grenoble), Robert J. Kozljanic (Albunea Verlag – Munich; Nietzsche-Forum – Munich), Hilge Landweer (Free University of Berlin), David Le Breton (University of Strasbourg), Juhani Pallasmaa (Aalto University), Alberto Pérez-Gómez (McGill University – Montreal, Quebec), Andreas Philippopoulos-Mihalopoulos (University of Westminster – London), Andreas Rauh (University of Würzburg), Hermann Schmitz († Emeritus – Kiel University), David Seamon (Kansas State University), Giovanni Stanghellini (Gabriele d’Annunzio University – Chieti; Diego Portales University – Santiago), Shanti Sumartojo (Monash University), Jean-Paul Thibaud (CNRS – Grenoble).

Associate Members

Aurosa Alison (Polytechnic University of Milan), Valeria Bizzari (Catholic University of Leuven), Guenda Bernegger (SUPSI – Switzerland), Alessandro Bertinetto (University of Turin), Margit Brunner (University of Adelaide), Elisabetta Canepa (Manhattan, Kansas / University of Genoa), Barbara Carnevali (EHESS – Paris), Vincenzo Costa (Vita-Salute San Raffaele University- Milan), Elisabetta Di Stefano (University of Palermo), Mădălina Diaconu (University of Vienna), Carsten Friberg (Independent Researcher – Copenhagen), Mildred Galland-Szymkowiak (CNRS – École Normale Supérieure – Paris), Julian Hanich (University of Groningen), Dehlia Hannah (Arizona State University), Klaske M. Havik (Delft University of Technology), Christiane Heibach (FHNW Basel; University of Regensburg), Maximilian Gregor Hepach (University of Cambridge), Yuho Hisayama (Kobe University), George Home-Cook (Independent Researcher – UK), Veronica Iubei (Heidelberg University) Steffen Kluck (Rostock University), Reinhardt Knodt (Independent Researcher – Berlin), Joel Krueger (University of Exeter), Wendelin Küpers (Karlshochschule – Karlsruhe), Rita Messori (University of Parma), Eugenio Morello (Polytechnic University of Milan), Werner Müller-Pelzer (Fachhochschule – Dortmund), Irina Oznobikhina (European University – St. Petersburg), Barbara Piga (Polytechnic University of Milan), Matthew Pritchard (University of Leeds), Tiziana Proietti (Oklahoma University), Friedlind Riedel (Bauhaus University – Weimar), Simon Runkel (Friedrich Schiller University – Jena), Susanne Schmitt (Independent Researcher – Munich), Sara Asu Schroer (University of Oslo), Renata Scognamiglio (Sapienza University – Rome), Antonio Somaini (Sorbonne Nouvelle University – Paris 3), Anette Stenslund (University of Southern Denmark), Thomas Szanto (University of Copenhagen), Juha Torvinen (University of Helsinki), Dylan Trigg (University of Vienna), Silvia Vizzardelli (University of Calabria), Izabela Wieczorek (University of Reading), Barbara Wolf (Kolping Hochschule – Cologne), Penelope Woods (Queen Mary University – London).